January 31, 2019
On May 22, 2018, the State of Vermont enacted House Bill Number 764 (the “Bill”) to, among other things, regulate how Vermont data brokers collect consumer data and sell that information to third parties. The Bill went into effect on January 1, 2019, giving Vermont data brokers until January 31, 2019, to register as data brokers with the Vermont Secretary of State. If data brokers fail to register (and pay the annual $100 registration fee), they are subject to a penalty of $50 per day until registered, not to exceed a penalty of $10,000 per annum. In addition to registration fees, Vermont data brokers are required to annually provide information concerning their data collection activities, opt-out policies, purchaser credentialing practices, and any security breaches.
Who are data brokers within the meaning of the Bill? [Read More]